So…I threw out the rice, it got all hard and dry (can’t seem to get around it) and i remembered reading somewhere that rice grows bacteria = food poisoning (yick).

I went to the market place on campus to see if they actually got bread in…and they don’t have any.  The only other option was to buy their bread, which is an extra dollar. …Um no.  You’d think that it being the first week of classes that they would put bread on their shelves by this point.  I’ve been here since last Friday and I have yet to see bread…This calls for an adventure to Aldi’s.  Cheap food that is also healthy and not filled with preservatives (most of the time), except sometimes the stuff they sell is so close to the expiration date…so to the freezer my big ol’ loaf goes (where I stumbled upon 7 boxes of pierogies and 2 tilapia fillets.) The bread ended up being $1.15…and it’s a lot of bread.

So dinner turned into tilapia with roasted red pepper hummus (I eat fish once in a blue moon, I need the omega’3s).  Some of my pierogies and frozen veggies, i need to make more freezer room.

Cheap-o hot chocolate:

  • 8 oz. hot water (or milk if you have any, i don’t at the moment 😦 )
  • 1 heaping tsp. of baker’s cocoa
  • multiple tsp. of sugar, depends on how sweet you like it.
    Directions
    MIX MIX MIX MIX MIX!! mix very well or you will get clumps!

I’ll be gone for 2 days, so hopefully I can save meal money I am getting for my trip. So far I havn’t spent that much money on food, didn’t eat out, didn’t get my usual cafe au lait when I go downtown. Next week I might as well add a goal to my budget challenge to make it more interesting.

