So I guess adding to this challenge would be to not waste food. (Last week with the rice and the remaining amount of curry I had left…yea).
I made about 4 cups of hummus…well I THINK it is hummus, I thought I had chickpeas and it turned out to be a pound of pinto beans. I substituted peanut butter for tahini, since I had no idea where to get it anyways and didn’t want to pay an arm and a leg for a jar.

Pinto bean & Peanut Butter Hummus:

  • 2 pound can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed.
  • 6 Tb. Peanut Butter
  • 2 Tb. Olive Oil
  • 1/2 squeezed Lemon
  • Ground Red Pepper (to taste)

Directions:

  • Drain the can of pinto beans (save the liquid!) and rinse them good.
  • Microwave pinto beans for about 20-30 seconds (easier to mash)
  • Mash the pinto beans (or use a food processor, I prefer this way because it still leaves some of the texture)
  • Add the peanut butter, olive oil, and lemon. Mix well
  • Add in the Ground Red Pepper, mix in. Adjust to your tastes.
  • Add the liquid (or water) for a less thicker hummus.
  • REFRIGERATE!!!

This makes about 2.5 cups of hummus.

    Serving Size: 2 TB
    Calories: 95
    Fat: 5g
    Carbs: 8g
    Fiber: 2.5g
    Protein: 4g

This actually turned out VERY good. In fact my dad tried to steal the whole container (I am promising him a portion of it, as he keeps eating it lol). I did add a little bit of garlic, but you can’t really tell there is garlic in there. (I add a lot of spices)

Since I have no class today, I decided to run before the crack of dawn. For those of you who like to run, run when the sun is coming up. It’s so beautiful.

EDIT: I really miscalculated the amount it makes.

