I feel like I need to update before the weekend…not too much has happened except for dread on what the next week will bring me. (and no I am not talking about Valentine’s day)

I am talking about being a student athlete.

Some of you may be aware that I compete for Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor track.  Many of you may not know that our schedules for competition are “lighter” than in highschool.  We compete on the weekends.  Cross country is usually half a day or overnight.  Track is either all day or 3 days (this includes the travel time).

What I am getting at is this:  it’s very frustrating to balance homework, life, track, getting money (as in a job haha), working on my future career after I graduate.  I am working towards a BA in Graphic and Web design, I need my computer to do my work not a book to dig my nose into and memorize words that I will possible forget in a year.  I am also not the only one on my team with this double BA major, the other girl also feels the same way.

What other people don’t realize is that we are creative people who have creative projects.  It takes time and effort and dedication to put good work out there.  I have seen kids in my class that half-assed their work just to satisfy a professor.

 

Seriously sometimes I wonder if my mind is constantly on some sort of high (runners high!!!)

Back to my challenges:

Smiling seems to have helped in many ways.  Like when a printer randomly decides it doesnt want to print because it thinks it has no paper….force a smile, stare at a wall, and instantly you wont feel like throwing the printer out a window.

As far as budgeting….well my recent paycheck from work study was less than I thought I was going to get. I was going to use that money to sign up for a marathon (well I still am, the deadline for cheap registration ends the 15th). So I can’t use my credit card for a month.  So here’s to 30 days of not using a credit card…starting…now.

